Kiki Smith

image

Here is an artist who has fascinated and spurred me on. I appreciate how she uses her body in making work, that she too seeks to express the disappointment of disillusionment at realising childhood beliefs are just stories/myths.
I tend toward her sculptures as I guess I am needing to creat one myself. I find them to be ideas that have come into being and more of a reality than the 2d work… thinking out loud…

In discussions with a fellow student 20150114_112408 it was highlighted to me that the back arch pose I was doing was like yoga and that the counter pose was important. When I was reading and researching Kiki Smith her piece Untitled 1995 brought this studio discussion to mindScan_Pic0018

This lead me to be more open minded to the symbolism of different body poses and their place in my work.

Leave a Reply

