Yayoi Kusama at Museum Boijmans, Rotterdam, the Netherlands

20141120_123943

Video

http://www.boijmans.nl/en/7/calendar-exhibitions/calendaritem/913/mirror-room-yayoi-kusama

I saw Kusama’s infinity room, a permanent display, at Boijmans and it showed me how brilliantly an artist can express what they are feeling so I the viewer can empathize.

wpid-20150425_045840.jpg

From notes:

“Felt I was going to be sick and have a panic attack- feeling of loss of sanity.

Wanted to run out, but was compelled to document and describe what I ‘see’ pre panic attack. Not just the spots- the forms bring on revulsion.”

Interesting now to look back. Can this type of work help one face their fears?

I did a lot of research on Kusama afterwards and even attempted to include her in my dissertaion.

See also

One thought on “Yayoi Kusama at Museum Boijmans, Rotterdam, the Netherlands

Leave a Reply

